NEWS LEAKS AGENCY - NIGERIA NEWS TODAY & Breaking News | Naija News Today

NANS, Others Storm Ajayi Crowther University, Demand Justice for Murder of Alex Timileyin

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Members of the National Association of Nigeria Students, NANS and Warri, Delta State indigenes have stormed the Ajayi Crowther University, Oyo State demanding justice for the murder of Alex Timileyin Chamuke Akro, a 200-level student who was beaten up by his mates for allegedly stèaling a phone.

It was gathered that 25 suspects were arraigned on Wednesday, 5th June 2024 for their involvement in the beating which led to the death of Alex who was left in the rain after being beaten.

Demanding for justice, NANS President stated that unjust killing of students in their campuses can no longer be tolerated and said that the leadership will not fold their hands.

“The killing of Nigerian students in their campuses is too much and we want to put an end to it. We are here to get a first hand information from the management of the Institute. Any act of suppression that Alex has passed through, we condemn it in its entirety. The way he was treated, we absolutely condemn it. No parents will allow their child pass through such treatment.”

Meanwhile, a relative of the deceased, had earlier petitioned the Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde, urging the governor to ensure that those behind the murder were brought to justice.

In an update on X on Wednesday, ‘Lord Of Warri’ wrote, “Today June 5, 25 students were arraigned in court in connection with the tragic murder of Prince Alex Timileyin, a son of the Warri Kingdom and a student at Ajayi Crowther University, Oyo.

“The court has remanded them in prison until July 8, pending trial.

“We appreciate the efforts of the Oyo State Government and the Oyo State Police Command in pursuing justice and ensuring that the perpetrators are held accountable.

“We await the trial and expect that justice will be served in its entirety.”

The suspects are:

1. Kumolu Opeyemi Daniel (21)
2. Oluwole Olanshile Thompson (25)
3. Lawal Victor Tomilola (23)
4. Omolakin Oluwatomiwa Anthony (24)
5. Folorunsho Oluwakunmi (21)
6. Bolarinwa Oloruntoyinbo Victor (20)
7. Oladoye Femi Ola (34)
8. Kehinde Olasusuyi Martins (32)
9. Okorie Samuel (20)
10. Mustapha Khalid (23)
11. Mustapha Usman Segun (19)
12. Adeniran Yusuf (20)
13. Oloyede Femi (18)
14. Areye Joseph Aduragbemi (19)
15. Oyelakin Iyanuoluwatomiwa (18)
16. Olalekan Obaloluwa (20)
17. Adejumobi Emmanuel (18)
18. Daudu John Oluwaseun (18)
19. Gana Solomon (21)
20. Moses Abiola (20)
21. Tijani Hammad (21)
22. Omon-Fumen Jenkins (21)
23. Okay-Aroh Gerald (20)
24. Kolawole David (22)
25. Afesojaye Emmanuel (18)

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave a Reply