UAE Lifts Travel Restriction On Nigeria, Others


UAE Lifts Travel Restriction On Nigeria, Others


United Arab Emirates (UAE) has lifted the travel restriction on Nigeria and 11 other African countries.

UAE authorities said the lifted restriction on Nigeria and other countries takes effect on Saturday, January 29. The authorities said flight arrivals can resume from Nigeria, countries like Botswana, Congo Republic, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Tanzania, and Zimbabwe.

UAE’s National Emergency Crisis and Disaster Management Authority (NCEMA) said it was lifting the ban initially imposed as part of measures to prevent the spread of the Omicron variant of COVID-19.

The country issued a travel restriction on passenger flights from Nigeria, Kenya, Tanzania, and Ethiopia in December. NCEMA and the General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) said the directive, which took effect December 25, was due to concerns related to the spread of the omicron COVID-19 variant.

DID YOU SEE THIS:  Japan To Pay $880 To Persons Younger Than 18

“The excluded categories should present a negative COVID-19 test obtained within 48 hours of departure and a Rapid-PCR test at the airport within six hours of departure whenever possible and another PCR test at the airport upon arrival to UAE,” the UAE agency said in December. It, however, announced an update to the entry procedures for flights originating from Ghana, Rwanda, and Uganda.

Please report any fake news , misinformation or defamatory statements to Email: [email protected], [email protected],

Call  / Whatsapp +2348062867011